GOP Leaders Unveil New Punishment For Cities That Allow Non-Citizens To Vote

( Back in December, a group of Senate Republicans presented legislation that would bar federal funds from going to state or localities that permit foreign nationals to vote in US elections.

Led by Florida Republican Senator Marco Rubio, the “Protecting Our Democracy by Preventing Foreign Citizens from Voting Act,” (that just trips off the tongue, doesn’t it?) was introduced in response to several Democrat-run municipalities permitting non-citizens to vote in local elections.

According to Senator Rubio, states and localities permitting foreign citizens to vote is “ridiculous.” But if they insist on doing so, they shouldn’t be permitted to receive taxpayer money from US citizens.

The measure is co-sponsored by Republican Senators Steve Daines of Montana, Thom Tillis of North Carolina, John Kennedy of Louisiana, Rick Scott of Florida, and James Lankford of Oklahoma.

South Carolina Republican Congressman Jeff Duncan, who is introducing companion legislation in the House, said the right to vote should be “solely limited to American citizens.” Allowing foreign nationals or illegal aliens to vote, Duncan added, would give foreign nationals influence in “some of the most important decisions impacting our families, our rights, and our representation in government.”

Senator Kennedy of Louisiana said permitting non-citizens to vote in US elections makes a mockery of US citizenship.

Senator Daines believes Democrat-led states and cities permitting non-citizens to vote will effectively disenfranchise American citizens.

The proposed federal legislation follows on the heels of Georgia Secretary of State Brad Raffensperger proposing an amendment to the state constitution that would ban non-citizens from voting in Georgia’s election. In a recent interview, Raffensperger said citizen-only voting “has overwhelming bipartisan support.”

In Vermont, the cities of Montpelier and Winooski approved non-citizen voting in municipal elections for the mayor, city council, and school boards.

San Francisco likewise has approved non-citizen voting. So too have nine cities in Maryland and two municipalities in Massachusetts.

New York’s City Council voted in early December to allow the 800,000 non-citizens lawfully residing in the city to vote in municipal elections.